Skip to content Skip to main navigation Report an accessibility issue

Vivian L. Haun Award

The Vivian L. Haun award is given annually to a UTK-Project GRAD Summer Institute Team Member who has displayed exceptional leadership and commitment to the Summer Institute.  The award is given in honor of Vivian L. Haun.

Vivian L. Haun taught at Sweetwater (TN) High School.  She received her bachelor’s and master’s degrees in education from the University of Tennessee, Knoxville. Vivian was extremely passionate about student learning, often devoting large amounts of time beyond school hours to help students learn.  She was a committed teacher and students frequently expressed their desire to learn from her.

In 2006, the UTK-Project GRAD Summer Institute hired her as an instructor for the Pre-College Skills course.  She displayed her exceptional leadership skills and commitment to teaching during the Summer Institute.  Her efforts resulted in the development of the standards used to evaluate scholars in the Pre-College Skills content area. The Summer Institute scholars loved her energy and spontaneity.

On April 20, 2013, Vivian tragically passed in an automobile accident.  Soon after, the UTK-Project GRAD Summer Institute leadership team passed a resolution to establish an honor that would recognize and celebrate her devotion to her work and excellence in service to the Summer Institute’s students.  Each year, the leadership team identifies individuals who have best exemplified the spirit and passion for the Summer Institute displayed every day by Vivian.

2013 Recipients:

  • Kara Avent
  • Tiffany Esters
  • Jesse Jones
  • Christi Kirk
  • Annette Long
  • Charleston Strickland
  • Simone Taylor

2014 Recipients:

  • Laura Cline
  • Jeremey Curtis
  • Corey Hodge
  • Mariannina Montag
  • JaCorey Smith
  • Dr. Ruth Queen Smith
  • Dr. Michael Unseren

2015 Recipients:

  • Dr. Thura Mack
  • Angela M. Hamstead

2016 Recipients:

  • Lechon Cole
  • Asia White

2017 Recipient:

  • Dr. Shawn Spurgeon

2018 Recipients:

  • Dr. Dorian L. McCoy
  • Brittany Newcomb

2019 Recipients:

  • Shanna E. Smith
  • Kensey Zimmerman