Educational Leadership and Policy Studies

The University of Tennessee, Knoxville


Kelsey Elam-Geuting (Cohort 2016) is the 2016 Association for Fraternity Advisors (AFA) Adele Williamson Outstanding Masters Research Award Recipient. The purpose of the award is to encourage and support the study and dissemination of high quality research on the role of the fraternity and sorority in higher education. Kelsey’s thesis is entitled: Peer Educators in National Panhellenic Conference Sororities.

Amanda Luckett (Cohort 2017) – Graduate Assistant in the Center for Health Education and Wellness – is a collaborator on a U. S. Department of Justice Office on Violence Against Women Grant.  For her capstone project, she is creating a course for the Educational Leadership Minor titled Sexual Violence: The Issue, The Challenge, and Creating Change. All work related to the course  must be approved by the Department of Justice. On Monday September 19th, the syllabus for her course was formally approved.

Keith Carver, PhD (2009) (CSP Cohort 1995) has been selected as the next Chancellor for the University of Tennessee at Martin. 

Mary Kate Misak (Cohort 2017) will serve on the Graduate Staff for the 2016 Association of Fraternity/Sorority Advisors Annual Meeting in Boston, MA. November 30 – December 3.

Abby Coon (Cohort 2018) will serve as the UTK Ambassador for NASPA’s TPE (The Placement Exchange) for the 2016-2017 Academic Year. 

Kelsey Elam-Geuting (Cohort 2016) is the 2016 Norma T. Mertz Award (Outstanding CSP Graduate Student) recipient.

Caroline Terry (Cohort 2015) is the 2015-2016 Mercer University Student Leadership Awards Outstanding Student Organization Advisor for her work with the Mercer Residence Hall Association.

Laura Stetler (Cohort 2008) is the CEHHS Dean’s Service Award Recipient for 2015-2016.

James Kelly (Cohort 2016) is the Division of Student Life Second-Year CSP Graduate Assistant of the Year (2015-2016).

DJ Gardow (Cohort 2017) is the Division of Student Life First-Year CSP Graduate Assistant of the Year (2015-2016). 

The Office of Student Conduct and Community Standards was awarded the Innovative Program of the Year Award (VolsREACH) for the Division of Student Life. Jennifer (JC) Cooper (Cohort 2016) developed the program. 

Brandon Woodmancy (Cohort 2017) is University Housing’s Graduate Assistant of the Year (2015 – 2016).

Nicole Nicholson (Cohort 2017) will serve as a Conference Intern for the 2016 NODA Annual Conference in November (Indianapolis, IL).

Michael Bailey (Cohort 2017) will serve as a 2016 NODA New Student Orientation Program Intern at Columbia University (New York, NY).

DJ Gardow (Cohort 2017) will serve as a 2016 ACUHO-I Summer Conference Intern at the University of Chicago (Chicago, IL).

Kailee Karr (Cohort 2017) will serve as a Graduate Student Observer at Franklin University Switzerland during June 2016.

Matt Hicks (Cohort 2017) will serve as a 2016 NODA Intern at Becker College (Worcester, MA).

Nicole Nicholson (Cohort 2017) will serve as a 2016 ACUHO-I Summer Conferences and Housing Intern at the University of South Carolina Upstate (Spartansburg, SC).

Katie Perry (Cohort 2017) will serve as a 2016 NODA Intern for Dominican University (River Forest, IL).

Casey Renegar (Cohort 2017) will serve as an Intern at the Association of Fraternal Leadership & Values (AFLV) Conference in Indianapolis, IN, February 2-7, 2016 and as a Student Delegate for the Council for Advancement and Support of Education (CASE) Conference in Nashville, TN, February 14-17, 2016.

Lacie Rhoden (Cohort 2017) was selected as the UT representative for NASPA’s Graduate Associate Program (GAP)The NASPA Graduate Associate Program is an initiative to increase leadership opportunities of graduate students.  They collaborate with other graduate assistants and serve as communication conduits for NASPA events, publications, and programs offerings within a campus community.

Lacie Rhoden (Cohort 2017) will serve as a 2016 NACA Summer Intern for the Office of Student Involvement and Leadership at Suffolk University (Boston, MA).

Brittney Wright (Cohort 2017) will serve as a Resident Director for the Harvard Pre-College Program at Harvard University (Cambridge, MA).

Contribute to big ideas. Give to ELPS.

The University of Tennessee, Knoxville. Big Orange. Big Ideas.

Knoxville, Tennessee 37996 | 865-974-1000
The flagship campus of the University of Tennessee System and partner in the Tennessee Transfer Pathway.